M.ARCH graduate wins AJ Sustainability Award

We are delighted to share the brilliant news that Master of Architecture graduate Morgan Hone won the AJ Student Prize Sustainability Award 2019.

The Architects Journal invited every RIBA-accredited school in the UK to select their top two student projects - one at undergraduate level and one at postgraduate level - to compete for this year's AJ Student Prize. In addition, they invited schools to put forward a third project for the Sustainability Award.

CSA put forward Elliott Afoke for the Part 1, Tyler Lemmon for the Part 2, and Morgan Hone for the Sustainability Award. The undergraduate and postgraduate winners were chosen from 93 entries submitted by all 51 RIBA-accredited schools in the UK. In its first year, the Sustainability Award attracted submissions from 37 schools, eight of which were shortlisted. The results were announced in Spitalfields, London on Wednesday 25 September.

Morgan, who did both his BA and his Master of Architecture at UCA Canterbury School of Architecture, won the Sustainability Award with his 5th year thesis project 'Growtown'.

"Both pragmatic and elegant, the thesis suggests implementing intense farming to help reinvigorate, environmentally and economically, the declining city of Detroit in Michigan, USA. The judges said of Morgan’s sustainable scheme, that it demonstrated excellent judgement and an architectural solution that is appropriate to the problem needing to be solved. Within the submissions, there are many schemes that perhaps do too much, showing that architects always have the desire to make monumental projects. This scheme, on the other hand, is notable for its reticence. The project is commendable for its judgement of social sustainability and creating a viable proposition for getting people (of Detroit) back to work."

AJ Student Prize Sustainability Award 2019
Winner: GROWTOWN // Detroit, Michigan
by Morgan Hone

UCA Canterbury School of Architecture
Master of Architecture (ARB/RIBA Part 2)
Tutor: John Bell

Congratulations Morgan!

This is the third competition award for our M.ARCH students this year.
Check out the winning projects by Chris Johnson and Tyler Lemmon here:

Gabor Stark
M.Arch Convenor